Board of Directors

  1. Robert J. Herdman, Director

    Mr. Herdman is a Fellow Chartered Accountant and was formerly a senior partner at Price Waterhouse and PriceWaterhouseCoopers in Calgary serving that firms largest Calgary based public clients. After enjoying a 34-year career with the firm, Mr. Herdman retired from practice in 2010. Mr. Herdman currently serves on the boards of Black Diamond Group, Blackline Safety and Sunshine Oilsands (all publicly traded companies) as well as Zag Bank and Western Financial Group.  Mr. Herdman has also served on a number of not for profit and professional organizations.  Mr. Herdman graduated with a Bachelor of Education degree from the University of Calgary.

  2. Jill T. Angevine, Director

    Ms. Angevine is a Vice President and Portfolio Manager at Matco Financial Inc. with over 20 years of investment and research experience. She is a member of Matco Financial’s Investment Committee and chairs the Canadian Equity Working Group. Ms. Angevine currently serves on the boards of two other publicly traded entities. Prior to joining Matco Financial, Ms. Angevine was Vice President and Director, Institutional Research at FirstEnergy Capital Corp. Ms. Angevine graduated from the University of Calgary in 1989, having earned a Bachelor of Commerce and has earned the Chartered Accountant (CA), the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA), and the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD.D) designations.

  3. Robert J. Iverach, Q.C., ICD.D Director

    Mr. Iverach has been a practicing tax lawyer in Calgary for more than 38 years.  He was a founding partner of Felesky Flynn LLP, retiring therefrom in December 2005 after 28 years.  He has extensive experience dealing with financial statements, financial planning and tax matters pertaining to a large array of public and private corporations and partnerships, particularly in the energy sector.  Mr. Iverach graduated from the University of Calgary with a Bachelor of Arts degree, from the University of Alberta with a Bachelor of Laws degree and from the London School of Economics with a Masters of Laws degree.  He is a past President of the Canadian Petroleum Tax Society and was the Founding Editor of the Canadian Petroleum Tax Journal.  Mr. Iverach has completed the directors education program offered by the Institute of Corporate Directors including sessions devoted to Audit Committee functions and is an examiner in the ICD program.  He has also received the honorary designation of Queen’s Counsel.

  4. Walter Vrataric, Director

    Served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Chinook since December 2013.  Walter served as the President of Chinook from May 2012 until December 2013 and Vice President, Business Development and Land of Chinook from June 2010 to May 2012 and prior thereto, of Storm Ventures International Inc., a predecessor corporation to Chinook from March 2010 to June 2010.   Prior thereto, President and Chief Executive Officer of One Exploration Inc. (oil and gas company) from September 2006 until January 2010 and prior thereto, Vice-President, Land of Rock Creek Resources Ltd. (oil and gas company).